Thank you for subscribing to Seavoices’ updates!

Please take a moment to check your email inbox and confirm your subscription to start receiving the latest news and updates.

17 Nov 2020
2 mins
SMOU awarded Crew Change Champion for Facilitating Crew Change amid COVID-19 Pandemic

Maritime and Port Authority of Singapore (MPA) hosted the annual Singapore Registry of Ships (SRS) Forum on 3 November. The forum was attended by more than 200 attendees from shipping companies and other maritime entities.

The forum, themed “Resilience, Strength and Adaptability” focused on how owners, managers and operators of Singapore-flagged ships can tap on opportunities brought about by the COVID-19 pandemic, in areas such as digitalisation and decarbonisation.

Speaking at the opening address, MPA Chief Executive Quah Ley Hoon said “While the pandemic has thrown Maritime Singapore with many challenges, it also presented us with opportunities to emerge stronger.”

“To do this, MPA will strengthen partnerships, drive digitalisation and decarbonisation of shipping to ensure that the Singapore Registry of Ships is adaptable and agile in the new normal. MPA will also continue supporting our seafarers, the backbone of the maritime industry especially during the pandemic”

At the forum, the Crew Change Champion award was presented to SMOU by MPA, for playing a part in facilitating crew change amid the challenging COVID-19 pandemic.

SMOU Assistant General Secretary Gwee Guo Duan receiving the Crew Change Champion award from MPA Director (Shipping) Goh Chung Hun.

SMOU would like to congratulate the following award winners for contributing towards green shipping and crew change in Singapore.

Green Certificate Award:
• A.P. Moller – Maersk Singapore Pte Ltd
• BW Group
• CLdN Cobelfret Pte Ltd
• Keppel Smit Towage Pte. Ltd.
• Maersk Tankers Singapore Pte Ltd
• MMSL Pte Ltd
• NYK Ship Management Pte Ltd
• PACC Tanker Management Pte Ltd
• PSA Marine
• Thome Ship Management Pte. Ltd.
• Trafigura Group
• Winning International Group Pte Ltd

Crew Change Champion Award:
• A.P. Moller – Maersk Singapore Pte Ltd
• Mitsui O.S.K. Lines, Ltd. (Asia Oceania)
• Pacific International Lines (PTE) Ltd
• Singapore Maritime Officers’ Union
• Singapore Shipping Association (SSA)
• Synergy Marine Group
• Western Shipping Pte Ltd
• Wilhelmsen Ships Services AS

See full list  here.

Following the prize presentation, MPA Shipping Division shared their expertise and insights on conducting remote surveys and inspections amid the COVID-19 pandemic, as well as lessons learnt from MPA’s investigations of marine casualties and incidents.